Skip to main content

Alpine climbing course in Chamonix – Level 2

The Mountain Progression Course is designed as a follow on from our Level 1 course, or as continued education and practice for alpinists with prior experience.

UIAGM MOUNTAIN GUIDES

Fully qualified English & French speaking guides ensuring optimum safety & expert tuition.

1:2 GROUP RATIO

Allowing you to tackle more technical ascents to progress & build on your existing skill set.

ICONIC CHAMONIX CLIMBS

Follow in the footsteps of many of the world’s most famous climbers, in the birth place of modern Alpinism.

CLIMB HARDER, HIGHER AND LEARN ADVANCED SAFETY SKILLS

The move toward autonomy in the high mountains and towards more committing and technically difficult mountaineering are the focus of this week. Our UIAGM mountain guides accompany you along the way, with custom tailored route selection and personal attention. You develop more quickly, safely, and can look forward to climbing the Alps’ bigger routes.

There is a particular emphasis on pedagogy- your progress as an alpinist is our priority. You’ll learn new, more intricate techniques to complement your alpine portfolio. Special attention to safety, efficiency, and the correct application of given techniques on different types of terrain. Ice, rock, mixed, and steep snow, as well as safe glacier travel and crevasse rescue are included in the course – a well rounded, advanced alpine experience for students of the mountains! The ratio of client to guide is reduced to 1 guide per 2 clients from the 2nd day forward to insure you get the best possible tutorship during the week.

From: 2090 €

Intermediate

  • Guide ratio 1:2
  • Groups of 6 maximum
  • 5 days course
  • Available June – September
  • 1 night in a mountain hut
  • Instructional course

Dates

Alpine climbing course in Chamonix – Level 2
Start dateEnd dateSpacePrice
Monday 20 May 2024
Friday 24 May 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 27 May 2024
Friday 31 May 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 3 June 2024
Friday 7 June 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 10 June 2024
Friday 14 June 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 17 June 2024
Friday 21 June 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 24 June 2024
Friday 28 June 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Saturday 29 June 2024
Wednesday 3 July 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 8 July 2024
Friday 12 July 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 15 July 2024
Friday 19 July 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 22 July 2024
Friday 26 July 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 29 July 2024
Friday 2 August 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 5 August 2024
Friday 9 August 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 12 August 2024
Friday 16 August 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 19 August 2024
Friday 23 August 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 26 August 2024
Friday 30 August 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 2 September 2024
Friday 6 September 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 9 September 2024
Friday 13 September 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 16 September 2024
Friday 20 September 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 23 September 2024
Friday 27 September 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 30 September 2024
Friday 4 October 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 7 October 2024
Friday 11 October 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 14 October 2024
Friday 18 October 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 21 October 2024
Friday 25 October 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 28 October 2024
Friday 1 November 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €

Dates

Alpine climbing course in Chamonix – Level 2
Start dateEnd dateSpacePrice
Monday 20 May 2024
Friday 24 May 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 27 May 2024
Friday 31 May 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 3 June 2024
Friday 7 June 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 10 June 2024
Friday 14 June 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 17 June 2024
Friday 21 June 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 24 June 2024
Friday 28 June 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Saturday 29 June 2024
Wednesday 3 July 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 8 July 2024
Friday 12 July 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 15 July 2024
Friday 19 July 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 22 July 2024
Friday 26 July 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 29 July 2024
Friday 2 August 2024
Guaranteed
2050 €
Monday 5 August 2024
Friday 9 August 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 12 August 2024
Friday 16 August 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 19 August 2024
Friday 23 August 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 26 August 2024
Friday 30 August 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 2 September 2024
Friday 6 September 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 9 September 2024
Friday 13 September 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 16 September 2024
Friday 20 September 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 23 September 2024
Friday 27 September 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 30 September 2024
Friday 4 October 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 7 October 2024
Friday 11 October 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 14 October 2024
Friday 18 October 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 21 October 2024
Friday 25 October 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Monday 28 October 2024
Friday 1 November 2024
Two more to guarantee
2050 €
Clothing
Mountaineering boots
Clothing
Thermal underwear
Clothing
Fleece or woollen layers
Clothing
Light puffer jacket
Clothing
Windproof and waterproof jacket
Clothing
Windproof and waterproof trousers
Clothing
Thin gloves
Clothing
Gaiters
Clothing
Sun hat
Clothing
Climbing shoes
Technical gear
Ice axe
Technical gear
Climbing harness
Technical gear
Telescopic poles
Technical gear
Screwgate carabiner x3
Technical gear
Belay device
Technical gear
Climbing helmet
Technical gear
Pair of technical ice axes
Technical gear
Ice climbing crampons
Technical gear
Crampons
Technical gear
25 – 30 litres rucksack
Technical gear
Lanyard
Technical gear
60 cm tape sling or cordelette for prusik
Other essentials
Sunglasses
Other essentials
Water bottle – Ideally two 1L bottles
Other essentials
Sun cream high protection (for lips and face)
Other essentials
Headlamp with fresh batteries
Other essentials
Lightweight sleeping bag – summer season
Other essentials
Face mask
Other essentials
Lightweight footwear to wear in mountain huts
Included in price

Guide Fees

5 days of guiding and instruction by a UIAGM qualified mountain guide.

Mountain hut

1 night in a mountain hut with breakfast and dinner included.

Lift passes

Lift passes included.

Local Transport

Any local transport that is required during your course.

Group Equipment

Ropes, safety equipment, etc will be provided when needed by your guide.

Office Support

Our team is based at the foot of the Aiguillle du Midi cable car and will be happy to help you with any questions you may have before, during or after your trip to Chamonix.

Not included in price

Insurance

Travel insurance including a mountain search and rescue insurance is mandatory on all our trips (we can organise the mountai search and rescue insurance for you on request). We highly advice to have a policy covering the cost of medical treatment and to protect the value of your holiday in the event of cancellation. When taking out insurance please ensure the policy you choose covers you for the activities and altitude included in your itinerary.

Accommodation in Chamonix

Accommodation in Chamonix is not included in the price but we would be happy to advise or organise it on request.

Travel to Chamonix

The price does not include flights, airport transfers or any other travel to/from Chamonix. However, we can organise airport transfers for you on request, please contact us for details.

Personal Equipment

Please see the “Equipment” tab to find out what you will need on this trip / course.  For private customised guiding, please contact us directly to confirm your personalised kit list.

Food & Drink

The price does not include lunch or snacks. You can bring your own food and we can stop for a picnic, or there may be the option to buy lunch at a mountain hut. Please make sure that you are carrying sufficient water and snacks as we will be in the mountains for a number of hours.